ICA: Film Open

Lewis den Hertog, Protein Shake Episode 1 (2014) (film still) courtesy the artist
10 Dec –
11 Dec

Press release

Film Open, is a new screening programme of artist films, featuring twenty recent works selected from an open call to Associate members or Studio holders of Spike Island, Bristol; Extra Special People, Birmingham; Transmission Gallery, Glasgow; Castlefield Gallery, Manchester and S1 Artspace, Sheffield.

Index, the title for this year’s Film Open, references the open call submission process while critically reflecting on the methods and approaches of many of the participating artists;

Liam Allan, Dan Auluk, Emma Charles, Karen Cunningham, Aideen Doran, Jemma Egan, Warren Garland, Alexander Storey Gordon, Lewis Den Hertog, Toby Huddlestone, Stuart Layton, Maryniak and Mclean, Mathew Parkin, Fred Pedersen, Susannah Stark, Jack Saunders, Jane Topping, Charlie Tweed, Grace Williams and Laura Yuile.

Steven Cairns, ICA Associate Curator of Artists’ Film and Moving Image and Film Open 2015 selector, said: ‘The programme features some of the best works by emerging artists from across the country. Not only does the Film Open offer an opportunity for artists, the screening programmes are also a unique opportunity for audiences to discover new artists and amazing works’.


Index: PART 1
Warren Garland, Welcome to Baltia, (2014), 4 min
Jack Saunders, Post-Incubation, (2014), 7 min
Lewis Den Hertog, Protein Shake – Episode 1, (2014), 15 min
Karen Cunningham, Development, (2000-15), 9 min
Susannah Stark, Coatl, (2015), 2 min
Fred Pedersen, Mannequin, (2014/15), 2 min
Emma Charles, After the Bell, (2009), 4 min
Liam Allan, To the free spirits in all cultures that Soichiro Honda typifies, (2014), 14 min
Mathew Parkin, One Touch Reworked, (2014), 10 min
Maryniak and McLean, Adam and Eve in the Garden of Sweden, (2013), 1 min

Index: PART 2

Stuart Layton, You never wash up after yourself, (2014), 3 min
Toby Huddlestone, Video Apathy, (2010), 7 min
Charlie Tweed, Archimeters, (2012), 5 min
Jemma Egan, Buns, (2015), 1 min
Alexander Story Gordon, Ur/Err, (2012), 13 min
Jane Topping, Teeth, (2014), 2 min
Aideen Doran, Oblomov’s Dream, (2014-15), 18 min
Grace Williams, V is for Val, (2013), 30 sec
Dan Auluk, Move Closer, (2014), 4 min
Laura Yuile, Identified Objects, (2015), 4 min